Architecture Scope

The scope of the Regional ITS Architecture can be described in terms of: 1) the size of the region and jurisdictions covered (geographic scope), 2) the planning or time horizon, and 3) the variety of transportation services that are covered. This scope is defined in the context of adjacent and overlapping Regional ITS Architectures.


The San Diego 5 Big Moves – Regional ITS Architecture is developed by the Regional Association of Government (SANDAG) to promote information sharing and coordination among agencies and stakeholders that increases interoperability of technologies used to provide services to the public.

The Architecture includes ITS inventory, stakeholder agencies, services, needs, agency roles, responsibilities, interfaces, and standards, that reflect initiatives up to and including 2035 for the entire San Diego County region; including 18 cities which make up the local government. SANDAG serves as the forum for regional decision–making for the San Diego region, demonstrated in the consensus built to develop the Architecture.

The SANDAG Regional Architecture is just one part of the Strategic Transportation Plan. The Plan is consistent with "San Diego Forward", the Regional Transportation Plan (RTP) 2019–2050. The Architecture documents existing and planned communications to implement transportation services for the next decade (10 years) through 2030. The Architecture uses the 2050 Regional Transportation Plan as a blueprint for a regional transportation system that further enhances the region's quality of life, promotes sustainability, and offers more mobility options for people and goods.

Time Frame: 10 Years

Geographic Scope

The geographic scope of the SANDAG region is large and diverse, with 18 individual cities, unincorporated land governed by the County of San Diego, the 18 sovereign tribal governments and 19 reservations, 3 major military bases, an international border with Mexico, and 3 land ports of entry in San Diego County. Today, about 3.2 million people live in this region. Every year that number, as well as the number of jobs and homes, goes up, reflecting a growing economy, new opportunities, and an increasing need for integration, coordination and cooperation. This Architecture was developed to meet and reach beyond this geographic scope.

Service Scope

This ITS Architecture covers a broad spectrum of ITS related services including: data management, tolling, congestion pricing, maintenance and construction, parking management, public safety, public transportation, connected vehicle support, sustainable travel, traffic management, traveler information, vehicle safety, emergency management, and weather information. It also includes an appropriate, small number of services related to the OME Border Crossing project, with particular focus on the services that support integration and coordination across the border network.

Related Architectures

Related ArchitectureDescription
Arizona Statewide ITS ArchitectureArizona Statewide ITS Architecture adjoins at the border with San Diego County. This ITS Architecture has adjoining portals where emergency response is concerned.
California Statewide ITS Architecture updateThe California Statewide ITS Architecture (2010 and other ITS Architectures) included a literature review, a review of goals and objectives of stakeholders, updated stakeholder lists; actual inventory (service systems in place, or planned), interviews and face–to face meetings with stakeholders, and mapping (linking of inventory) to Architecture system elements.
Inland Empire ITS ArchitecturePlaceholder – until more information can be discovered.
New Mexico Statewide ArchitectureThe New Mexico Statewide ITS Architecture is a roadmap for transportation systems integration in the State of New Mexico over the next 20 years. The New Mexico Statewide ITS Architecture has been developed through a cooperative effort by the region's transportation agencies, led by the New Mexico Department of Transportation (NMDOT), covering all surface transportation modes and all roads in the state.

The New Mexico Statewide ITS Architecture was initially developed from existing documentation for the State, a general understanding of the transportation systems in New Mexico, and from information gathered from regional and state government websites. An initial Statewide ITS Architecture was developed and was elaborated on through extensive stakeholder input gathered through a series of stakeholder workshops, from review with individual stakeholders, and from comments received during the review period. The New Mexico Statewide ITS Architecture represents a shared vision of how each agency's systems will work together in the future, sharing information and resources to provide a safer, more efficient, and more effective transportation system for travelers in the state.
Orange County ITS ArchitecturePlaceholder until more information can be discovered.
Southern Nevada Regional ITS ArchitectureThe Southern Nevada ITS Architecture (SNVArch) region is represented in population and transportation–related activity by the Las Vegas Metropolitan area. The southern region includes the local cities which own ITS infrastructure on arterial roadways and the RTC Freeway Arterial System of Transportation (FAST) system which owns and operates ITS infrastructure on highways and freeways and also operates the arterial network infrastructure within the region from the FAST Traffic Management Center (TMC). FAST is designed to monitor and control traffic. The traffic control component of the system consists of freeway and arterial management. Traffic control requires detection of traffic conditions through the use of video image detection and inductive loop detection. Visual verification of conditions is possible through closed–circuit television cameras. Traffic control is achieved through the use of traffic signals, ramp meters, dynamic message signs, and lane use control signals. FAST is a partnership of 5 major local stakeholders in addition to NDOT. RTC and NDOT pay for the primary costs of operation of FAST. The RTC of Southern Nevada and its RTC FAST TMC, the City of Henderson, the City of North Las Vegas, the City of Las Vegas, the City of Mesquite, Boulder City and Clark County are the primary jurisdictions reflected in the 2013 Southern Nevada Regional ITS Architecture.